A Greasy Life

Leave a comment

image

 

Ever seen some greasy food and thought “Eww, NO.” ?

image

 

Then you try it anyway and you sort of feel sick?

image

 

I know the feeling.

I even dab the grease off my pizza before I eat it. (Thanks Hungry Girl!) I just don’t like greasy food. It feels like I’m eating obesity. At least with a dry slice of pizza I feel a little more in control. But you see, in the same way I stay away from greasy food because I think it’s bad for me, and well… kinda gross, I find that Jesus probably looks at me the way I do a greasy egg roll. After all, I’m a dirty sinner, and it was MY sins that pushed Him to the Cross and held Him there. I reviled Him and His love and refused to serve Him for years, and then even after my salvation, proved to be flighty in my desires to obey Him. I sought after other people, things, pleasures, and forsook the One who gave everything up for my sake. Hey, if I were Him, I’d be repulsed by me too. If that sounds harsh, my only comment is– “you don’t know me”. You don’t know me. I am so sinful and wretched and uncommitted, it’s humiliating.

But He doesn’t revile me, or hate me, or feel repulsed by me. He paid fully for every one of my sins, so now, even with the smell of the smoke of hell still on my clothes, He only sees the Perfect Righteousness that He laid upon me. He doesn’t see me as that old greasy egg roll anymore. In fact, the Bible even says in 2 Corinthians 5:16-21, “Therefore from now on we recognize no one according to the flesh; even though we have known Christ according to the flesh, yet now we know Him in this way no longer. Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come. Now all these things are from God, who reconciled us to Himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation, namely, that God was in Christ reconciling the world to Himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and He has committed to us the word of reconciliation. Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God were making an appeal through us; we beg you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God. He made Him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf, so that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.”

So I’m a new creature! From sinner to saved! Thank God Jesus is not like me. But oh the joy of one day being made like Him.

Watch out for egg rolls.

Abigail

Leave a Reply

