He is my Rock

Leave a comment

image

We we have quite the rock collection in our backyard.

image

Gray, blue, brown and gold– what’s your pleasure?

image

I’ll be honest with you…rocks aren’t today’s topic…. Or, I guess I should say, just one Rock in particular is.

image

“He is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in Him.” -Psalm 92:15

image

Psalm 18:2 says, “The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, My God, my rock, in whom I take refuge; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.”

image

You’ve heard God called our hiding place, our strong tower, our refuge. When we use the term “Rock” we mean something similar. He is our protection. He’s the foundation of our lives like the rock that the wise man built his house upon to protect himself from the floods.

image

Perhaps you’ve heard the hymn “Rock of Ages” before, where the author cries out to God, “Rock of ages, cleft for me! Let me hide myself in Thee!” A cleft, as my Sunday school teacher once told me, is sort of an opening in the rocks, like a little nook to hide in.

image

Another hymn boldly declares that “Jesus is a Rock in a weary land,… A Shelter in the time of a storm”.

image

Now, these rocks I’ve been showing you pictures of? They’re simply mere stones. Pebbles. A vapor in the wind. Even these will be done away with. The rain comes and they get washed away in the flow. But God isn’t a pebble or a vapor or a stone. He’s an Eternal, Mighty Strong to Save Rock, that we may run to and find safety in. image

Psalm 18:31, “For who is God, but the LORD? And who is a rock, except our God,”; Psalm 95:1, “O come, let us sing for joy to the LORD, Let us shout joyfully to the rock of our salvation.”

image

Matthew 7:24-27, “Therefore everyone who hears these words of Mine and acts on them, may be compared to a wise man who built his house on the rock. And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and yet it did not fall, for it had been founded on the rock. Everyone who hears these words of Mine and does not act on them, will be like a foolish man who built his house on the sand. The rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and it fell–and great was its fall.”

Hide yourself in the Rock of Ages today. Don’t wait for the storm. In the words of Nicole C. Mullen in her song, “When Heaven Calls”: “we must be ready”.

-Abigail

Leave a Reply

